Go Back   Digital Webbing Forums > Talent Engine > Creator Community

Old 05-22-2018, 10:57 AM   #1
Kenanze

Kenanze is on a distinguished road

Aspiring artist in need of advice.

Hey guys,

My name is Kenan and I am an aspiring comic book artist with over 5 years of experience, working with various indie publishers.

I haven't been very active in the forums so I decided to turn to the DW community and share my story and my concerns and maybe some of you guys, which I know there are a lot of talented artist,writers etc. here, could give me some advice, critics or just share your own concerns and experiences in the business with me.

I can say I have a relatively successful career as a comic book artist so far, which means that approximately 2 years ago I ditched my day job and started working full time on comic books. It was a huge risk but I was confident I could find projects to work on and keep a respectable monthly income. It worked out great thankfully, Im still having a steady flow of projects to work on and I can say so far so good.

Eventually I wanted to try and send my portfolio to some of the more established publishers to try to get work on a more professional level. So I sent out my portfolio to A LOT of publishers,any publisher I could think of big or small. I never got a reply from any of them, which was pretty disheartening. It has been 5-6 months since I gave it a shot again with a new updated portfolio and still not one reply. I mean I understand that I was definitely not getting a reply from 90% of them, but not one reply where they would at least give me some insight to where I could do better , or something. My work is not the best, but I know its not "no comment" level of bad.lol. So I tell my self, they are too busy to look through every online submission and I just keep doing what I love and hope that one day someone will reply so I can at least get a good quality advice on how to improve my work.