Go Back   Digital Webbing Forums > Talent Engine > Creator Community

Old 03-03-2018, 10:31 AM   #1
Steve Colle
Freelance Editor

Steve Colle is a jewel in the roughSteve Colle is a jewel in the roughSteve Colle is a jewel in the rough

Editor: A Highly Misunderstood Position

I have Tourette syndrome. Through much of what I write and research about it, it's stated to be a "highly misunderstood condition"...which it is. In starting this thread, I realized that editing - especially editing in the comic industry - is just as misunderstood.

Creators, readers, and even publishers have difficulty figuring out what editors actually do, something that can - as an editor myself - be the biggest stress of the role. How do editors show their worth to the creative community and the end reader when their duties range from basic to detailed, creative to administrative, and everything in between?

Here's something I told a colleague recently:

“I would say the biggest problem with comic editing in particular is CREDIT. What I mean by this is I've seen credit given and have even received credit for anything ranging from proofreading to substantive editing to production management, but it all falls under the title of EDITOR.

Plotters create plot; Scripters write the script; Writers write the whole; Pencillers create the line work and Inkers ink it, unless you have someone doing Layouts and Finishes separately; and so on. They receive credit for their distinctive role. The titles identify themselves.

Editors are lumped into one title with so many duties that no one person can say "You do this." Even with the division of Editor-in-Chief, Executive Editor, Group Editor, Editor, Associate Editor, and Assistant Editor, no one publisher identifies the exact same duties under those roles, so if they can't clearly distinguish, how can creators or worse, the readers?"