PDA

View Full Version : A Question of confidence.

Spawn_Kcb
09-23-2006, 01:53 PM
Hello All,

I am first(ish) time poster and a long time lurker. Firstly let me just introduce myself, I am a would be writer who only has a number of to be published scripts under his belt, along with a couple of issues of the Night Warrior webcomic to my name.

Anyway, my question is one about confidence. How do people cope? I mean I cant get past the fact that everything I have written is in fact crap. I spend most of my time wondering if I will ever make it to the big leagues like I dream or I will simply spend the rest of my life wanting that which I will never have.

I guess I am really trying to ask how people deal with the emotional roller coaster that I cant seem to get off since becoming a "writer". Does it get worse or better once your work is in the public domain, and people actually read it? How do you get past that feeling that maybe you should give up and get on with "real life" and.... Well you get the idea.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and apologies to any moderators who I may have offended by putting this in the wrong place.

Later

Kev

http://kmchugh.blogspot.com/

Knuckles
09-23-2006, 02:29 PM
Well Kev,

I'm in the same boat as you. As would be writers, I like freelance better, you need to have an ultimate goal, which you do. But along the way you will have ups and downs like anything you do in life. What keeps me going is setting small goals and using the accomplishs and failures of those small goals to learn from and keep me motivated.

BTW the way thanks, you always have a saying like the one above in your head, but you never really look at it. You made me look at, I have this sudden urge to write.

Kep!
09-23-2006, 03:32 PM
There's a dirty little secret about ANY type of artistic venture...especially those with a strong corporate component:

It's all about doing the work.