PDA

View Full Version : Ink-related Question

ArtisticBlasts
09-17-2006, 03:17 AM
I'm new to inking, so I'd better ask this question. Is it okay for me to ink by using only trackpen (w/ various tip sizes)? I can't seem to use brush well, and I don't want to dirty the drawings. LMK about this. :blink:

MadCow Menu
09-17-2006, 08:35 AM
You can use whatever you are most comfortable with as long as it looks good, but you might want to practive with other tools like the brush--- it's always best to be well rounded.

ArtisticBlasts
09-17-2006, 10:53 PM
Thanks for the support, Ken. By the way, does brushes can be used on linearts? As far as I know, brushes is good only for blocking big black spots, or is there more uses of brushes? Also, how do we make "hatch"es effect in ink?

MadCow Menu
09-18-2006, 06:47 PM
By the way, does brushes can be used on linearts?
Brushes are definatly more than just filling in blacks. One you have control of a brush you can use it to get great textures and much better and more "organic" looking line art. A lot of inkers you almost nothing but brush. I use it for between 50 to 90% of the page--- depending what's on the page. (buildings and anything with a straight line I use some kind of pen.)
Also, how do we make "hatch"es effect in ink?
Crosshatching? That is just lines overlapping lines to give a tone.
Is this what you mean?
http://z.about.com/d/drawsketch/1/0/h/1/ink-crosshatching.jpg

GW.Fisher
09-18-2006, 09:50 PM
Brush inking:
http://inkwellgraphics.homestead.com/files/Avengersforever1.jpg

ArtisticBlasts
09-19-2006, 12:13 PM