PDA

View Full Version : Competitve industry??

jokerwilde
03-29-2006, 02:46 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forums, and i find this site extremely useful. I've been looking for something like this for the LONGEST time.

I am in need of a few pointers for career choices. I am graduating university soon, but i find that my niche isn't in what i'm studying here at school. It's more so in arts and graphics. I do cartoons for my schools editorial page, but that's about all the exposure i've had in the recent past.

I was wondering if anyone had any words of wisdom? Is illustration college worth going to or is the industry way too competitive? I heard that the industry for freelance illustration is very competitve, vs. the computer animation field, where "if your GOOD work will come find you." Thus i am torn :blink: . I have SOME experience in pencil-ink-photoshop illustration though i've only learned recently how to do this (that's what college is for i guess?).. would it help if i post a sample of something i've completed recently?

I'd love to make illustration a living for myself, but is it even possible or perhaps very risky?

What are some of the stories some of you more successful folks are willing to share in becoming a comic/concept artist?
Thanks a bunch. Look forward to reading the replies!

regards,
JW :laugh:

ShanE
04-08-2006, 12:12 AM
Well, I make a living at illustration and support a family. If can do it, so can you, its a matter of being avaialble on the net. Networking is a no brainer, and you have to produce your best work all the time. Even if you feel you could have done better on a project, then go over it and find what you could have enhanced to make it outstanding and redo it.
Waste no time being late on any project, even if you are, KEEP IN TOUCH with your client. Don't just email, CALL. Keeping in touch is so important, don't fall off the face of the earth, its a small industry and word gets around fast.