PDA

View Full Version : writing first cmic book script

sabba
03-14-2017, 12:31 PM
i am trying to make a comic again but this time i am actually writing the story not just concept and characters. i am mainly a prose writer with dyslexic symptoms. funny thing i can see the story like mini movie in my head but cant write down directly. i have to write as prose first otherwise i get a mental block, it annoying but it how it has to be done. i realize there are variety in ways to write a script. any advise how would break down prose to comic script and where i can sample scripts from to help determine right way for me. taking this one a slower pace and right steps. Still have diamond rep contact that was interested in first comic. hopefully will retry that one eventually.

B-McKinley
03-14-2017, 04:27 PM
Have you considered the "Bechdel Method" a.k.a. visual scripting (http://jessicaabel.com/2013/02/11/visual-scripting-using-indesign-to-write-comics/). I'm in almost the same boat as you--trying to "do it right" and create a good script before I start drawing. I made it through a first draft, and it was terribly frustrating turning the pictures in my head into words that will just need to be turned into pictures later. When I start the second draft I am probably going to use the visual scripting method this time.

For my traditional first draft what I did was make an outline in index cards. Then knowing how long I wanted the comic to be, I inserted extra cards for each page needed. Then you take those cards and break the synopsis into discrete actions that happen during that scene. That's basically the method described here: http://antonyjohnston.com/forwriters/scriveningcomics.php

The big problems I ran into were: