PDA

View Full Version : Sequential artist needed - $125.00 a page/cover

Val
02-03-2017, 06:29 PM
Hi everyone! :)

My name is Val Staples. I've been working in comics for over 15 years. Most people know me as a colorist, especially recently on Marvel's Deadpool. But I've also written and published comics during my time in this industry.

Here's an interview with me from a few years back (http://www.comicsbeat.com/interview-val-staples-discusses-life-as-a-freelance-colourist/).
And here's my credit list from my years of work in comics (http://www.comicbookdb.com/creator.php?ID=784).
I'm also one of the Admins on this site.

I'm working on a comic that I'm writing and to which I will be applying a limited color palette to the lineart. It's a Gothic supernatural thriller, that deals with teens, romance, and our own mortality. Please keep in mind the story is about mood, and not about scares and gore.

I'm looking for an awesome illustrator who is a story-telling master. I'm open to seeing different styles, but what I'd prefer to see is someone who mixes elements of eastern Asian art (Fairy Tail, Ao Haru Ride [for figure work], Tokyo Ghoul [for atmosphere].. are good examples),
mixed with some American comics influence. Especially for backgrounds. Doing really good backgrounds is just as important as expressive, well-done character work.

I'm leaning towards a female illustrator just because I want someone who can connect with a woman's perception and struggles. But that doesn't mean male artists are going to be immediately rejected. Bottom line: if you're looking to draw short skirts and cleavage, this is NOT the book for you. I want someone who wants to bring a lot of substance to the table. Characterization over carnality.