PDA

View Full Version : Editorial services

joshdahl
02-01-2017, 07:57 PM
Hi,
My name is Josh and I am a comic writer and educator.
In the past year, I have begun to offer my services as script support and writing consultant.

I want your feedback, as writers.
What do you want from editorial services?
What do you NOT want?
How much is that worth to you?
How does my page look? www.makebettercomics.com
Do you think there is enough demand for something like this to work?

Thanks,
Josh

paul brian deberry
02-02-2017, 07:54 PM
Hi Josh

Freelance editors are in the same boat as writers. Good luck.

Steven Forbes
02-02-2017, 07:58 PM
I do decently as an editor. Not enough to go full time, but it's a nice bonus when the work comes in.

B-McKinley
02-03-2017, 12:37 PM
Well I paid about $190 for my developmental editing package, which is probably closest to your script support package. I took advantage of a 50%-off sale so I guess I'm willing to pay between $200-400. That's for a 72-page comic (about 100 typed pages, 10,887 words). My editor bills by the word.

Your site is very clean, but it seems like navigation between the sections is missing, i.e. I can't get from services back to the home page.

The things I'd like to see are: What is the content of the free assessment? How much are you willing to read for free? What are the rates for the paid services? What sort of experience do you have editing?

I don't know if there's enough demand. I will say that personally I found it really frustrating that people you go to looking for feedback seem disinterested in script-only so that's why I found someone to pay for that.

Steven Forbes
02-03-2017, 05:36 PM
I do script-only. It helps.

Steve Colle
02-16-2017, 02:41 AM
Hi, Josh.