PDA

View Full Version : Character Designer Wanted for Children's Book

COsman
01-12-2017, 03:27 PM
Hello there character artist,

My name is Chris Osman and I am a writer, illustrator, and children's book publisher. I work closely with A.J. Cosmo and Thought Bubble Publishing on direct to market projects. So far we have hired two illustrators from Digital Webbing. One's work has already wound up published in "It's Ok to Hug," while the other one's book has yet to release. You can see out full library at www.ajcosmo.com (http://www.ajcosmo.com)

For this project, we are looking for a set of character designs for an upcoming children's book. This job is not for the illustrations of the book, just for the creation of the character sheets. We are looking at five to twelve characters needed for an ongoing series. Each of the characters are based off of a child version of a famous scientist. Examples include Newton, Galileo, Leonardo Da'Vinci and more recent figures such as Pavlov, Stephen Hawking, and Neil deGrasse Tyson. The final list is not set but we will have them for you by the time you are hired.

The style we are looking for is something along the lines of Muppet Babies, Precious Moments, or the Campbells Soup Children. Basically, the features should be soft, accessible, friendly, and look good illustrated in watercolor. This will be a picture book, so the age range is six and under. Another thing to note is that the children should all be dressed according to their adult versions in the period that they came from. So Newton would be wearing clothing from the seventeen hundreds while Pavlov would have a Soviet Era outfit.

We are primarily looking for pencil and ink sketches, however, if you want to add color it would be more than welcome.