PDA

View Full Version : What can a newbie writer charge per page?

REDemption2017
12-27-2016, 09:38 AM
I was thinking of offering my writing services out, freelance style, just like many artists do. The thing is, I didn't know what I could get away with charging per page as a newbie.

Keep in mind that, while I may appear new to people who have just heard of me, I have been a published writer for many years now. The thing is, I have no COMIC BOOK publications to my name.

Also, since I have not worked in the industry in any official capacity, my script format is not in "industry standard." What I did was spend some time searching on Google for comic book scripts. Then I came up with a format that worked for me. However, I stress that there is flexibility in how it is written. If I see something as an image that should cover only one panel, but the artist sees it as a splash page, then there is room for discussion. As long as the story gets told, you know?

So anyway, can anyone share any thoughts on that?

Sully
12-27-2016, 10:53 AM
On the bright side, as far as I'm aware, there is no true industry standard. I've heard pros say it, read it on several websites, so I assume it's true. Just make sure it's VERY easy to navigate and read.

On the downside, I have no idea what you might be able to charge. As a writer, comics are a fairly large money sink. But, maybe your prose experience will pull through and land you some contract work!

maverick
12-27-2016, 05:52 PM
$0.00

Lee Nordling
12-28-2016, 07:28 PM
I want to address the one part of the initial post that had me thinking, "Huh???!!!"

The concerning sentences: "However, I stress that there is flexibility in how it is written. If I see something as an image that should cover only one panel, but the artist sees it as a splash page, then there is room for discussion. As long as the story gets told, you know?"