PDA

View Full Version : What is a comic artist average page pay rates?

paradoxuniverses
12-20-2016, 02:21 PM
I got paid $1200 for a 32 page book, I'm just about done with it. it took me about 4 months because I work almost 40 hr a week, and I also have 3 kids that take up a lot of my time..lol but they want me to do another book this time 42 pages, I feel kind of burned out, I am new to the business side of comics, so what is a good average page pay rate for comics?

Steven Forbes
12-20-2016, 05:29 PM
Minefield.

Keep it civil.

Thanks in advance.

-Steven

Bishop
12-20-2016, 05:33 PM
It depends on how much you value your time. If you break it down to getting paid about $30-40/page and you feel that is worth the effort and time you put into it, then go for it. If you feel you are burning out and losing time with your kids and are resenting the page rate you are offered, then back out for a while.

I've been in this situation before where I really didn't have time or want to do any freelance work, so I put my price at a rate that I couldn't say no to (nearly double what I would usually charge). Someone actually came along and offered to pay me that rate, and I did it, but the money made it worth it.

Scribbly
12-21-2016, 02:54 AM
I suppose they were asking you to do more work for the same price. But even if they pay you $120 or $250 per page, with your life's schedule it would be hard to catch up.
32 pages in 4 months is 8 pages per month, 2 pages per week. No bad at all.
Therefore, 42 pages will be 6 months of work. Working at night, sleeping almost 4 hours per day.
This is up to you and your goals. If you think you can make it, go for it. Maybe with your experience working on these 32 pages you already did learn how to deal with family issues and work day demands.

Eliseu Gouveia
12-21-2016, 03:22 AM
Do the math, how many hours do you spend per page?
8-12 hours? Let's say 10.

USD$1200 for 32 pages equals USD$37,50 per page.