PDA

View Full Version : Any advice for writing comics....pls

mattvarmo
12-13-2016, 12:23 AM
Hi, I'm Matias, I'm an artist, in the way of be one. Here is the thing, I already have a very good story, I think, I've been working on it since july, and yesterday I started to draw the first page. I don't have problems to draw, I have problems with the script. And is not any problem, is a problem of language. My english is not the best, English is not my main language, so I understand and I can handle it a little but not enough to write a comic. Why I don't publish in my own language or country? because in my country the comic book is not a big medium, so they don't let me publish anything, just humoristics things and comic strip. My history is kind of fantasy. Any way I'm looking for advices about how has to be write a comic book, i mean grammar and that kind of stuff, where I can find a good translator, or someone who like to check the script and tell me if is good or bad. I'll try to publish this, but I can assure nothing, so I can put this thread on wanted jobs looking for a writer because I don't know if someone will pay for this or even if someone will like to print this.
So, I don't know if I was clear, I hope so, basically an advice or two to write good in english. Thanks!!!:)

Scribbly
12-13-2016, 02:48 PM
Have your script written in your first language. Get the full artwork done. Get somebody w experience working the translation for you.

Marta
12-14-2016, 07:18 PM
I agree with Scribbly. Perfect the story in your native language. Get feedback on it while writing it. Then consider translation.

It's possible to write it in English first by partnering with another writer whose first language is English, but you'll have far less control over the story. You could also line up an editor to work on it, but it might require a lot more work than you think, particularly if you're revising it a lot in English.