PDA

View Full Version : Superman comic page; Open to critique

Vict13
10-18-2016, 10:48 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, but I'm aspiring to be a professional. Any feedback would be much appreciated: what I did right, what I did wrong, etc.

This was based on the following prompt: Superman flies madly down towards downtown Phoenix (Arizona) where a bus filled with passengers is hijacked by a famous Superman villain who is flooring it and is speeding towards the capitol building with the plan of crashing the bus. Passengers are panicked, and stop the page to keep the reader on the edge, just before Superman is able to grasp and get the control of the bus.
https://4.bp.blogspot.com/-I2EuOnrXsqs/WARXLpAtfDI/AAAAAAAAAB0/LlPc1nmzagkt7S3jy9ZAEcPrWHLahYxOACLcB/s1600/super_smaller.jpg
I chose to make the supervillan Metallo, since he was the only one I could imagine stealing a city bus.

As far as the process behind this page goes: I started out by drawing the three main backgrounds of the page (the city, the capitol, and the bus interior) separately from the figures. Then I composited them together, adjusting the sizes as needed in photoshop. I then printed out the composited page in a rough six panel grid format. The final step was tightening up the rough on a clean sheet of paper with the live area and gutter sizes I was going for.

Michael Ford
10-21-2016, 02:30 PM