PDA

View Full Version : I Pencil Too!

JL Straw
08-24-2016, 09:57 PM
Hi and thanks for dropping in :happy:

For years now I've avoided penciling sequentials as I didn't enjoy doing them. But, I've been upping my game this year to develop my penciling skills and I also had the opportunity to pencils some sequentials, actually it was forced on me because none of my regular artists were available for the project.

Long story short I discovered why I didn't enjoy penciling sequentials - I lacked the necessary skills, and having spent the year fixing that I'm now able to draw sequentials that I'm happy with.

I really enjoyed drawing these pages and I'm really thankful my regulars couldn't take the project. Do this has shown me I'm capable and I look forward to drawing more sequentials. There's still much I'm studying and learning, particularly perspective, and I can't wait to see how far my work improves over the coming years.

Thank you for looking. Any comments or critiques are welcomed.

http://orig10.deviantart.net/3532/f/2016/237/9/6/jl_straw_mkzexcgm_pencils_01sf_by_theinkpages-dafae5z.jpg

http://orig09.deviantart.net/59cf/f/2016/237/9/c/jl_straw_mkzexcgm_pencils_02sf_by_theinkpages-dafaeau.jpg

http://orig08.deviantart.net/a564/f/2016/237/b/7/jl_straw_mkzexcgm_pencils_03sf_by_theinkpages-dafaedc.jpg

http://orig10.deviantart.net/9204/f/2016/237/6/1/jl_straw_mkzexcgm_pencils_04sf_by_theinkpages-dafaefq.jpg

paul brian deberry
08-24-2016, 11:45 PM
hey! these are good.

sevans
08-26-2016, 12:47 AM
Did you ever see a comic called Bazooka Jules (I think).
Your main character looks just like her.

Solid pages.

Amelia
08-26-2016, 02:14 AM
Awesome! The quest for better art is a never ending one, but you can enjoy it every step of the way.

Your lines are clean, and your character movements and expressions are dynamic. You're definitely on the right track!

What specifically about perspective do you want to improve on? What about in other aspects of your art?