PDA

View Full Version : Seeking sequential artist(s) for 16-page comic at ~$180/page

nicooo
03-30-2016, 08:11 AM
Hi everyone,

My name is Nicolas. I am a researcher at JCU Singapore (here is the link to my research profile: jcu.me/nicolas.greliche) and I'm trying to loosely adapt a scientific article I am currently writing into a short ~16 page graphic novel/comic/manga.

I've written the script and I'm now looking for some artist(s) to draw and colour it (I already have someone with me for the lettering). My budget for the whole thing is $3000, meaning the overall page rate for the hired artist(s) would be around $180 (with maybe a few minor requests for illustrations for the actual scientific article). I was thinking about paying the artist(s) via paypal in two goes, one after 8 pages of work and the rest after the 8 next pages (within 3 days of completion of those pages). Ideally I would like those pages to be finished within a month, but I'm ok to consider some extended period if this is not feasible.

I would like to provide the resulting graphic novel on the internet (not sure how and where yet. I'm happy to hear suggestions), free of charge and under the creative commons licence BY (attribution alone). This means that there won't be any direct income coming from sales, but you will get credit and be able to reuse, distribute, modify your work any way you want.

Now some additional info about the project:

Why am I doing this?
Well I like the sequential media a lot. I believe it has the potential to explain complicated scientific things in a fun and intuitive way. I have in mind to try to explain Statistics through a comic book, but I thought I should start with a smaller project first, so here it is. Additionally, I think such a project could show the scientific community that comics can help them communicate their findings... which could potentially lead to other work for you guys!

What is this article about?