PDA

View Full Version : Are you a writer or a typist?

UniverseX259
09-03-2015, 05:13 PM
Yes, another writing thread from me. This post will sound harsh, but believe me, it's tough love because I WANT YOU TO GET BETTER.

Now before I continue, some definitions:

Writer: One who above all has a grasp of storytelling. Your stories have a clear beginning, middle, and end, you're able to visualize shots well, and you have a good grasp of dialog. A reader can get into your stories and an artist can follow them and draw them well.

Typist: Your only qualification for writing is you have a word processor. This shit has to be easier than drawing, right?

Now I'm an artist and not a writer. I do have experience in creative writing and copywriting and have been told I'm a good writer, but I find drawing more enjoyable. But I've been drawing comics for a long time and I've read hundreds of scripts, so I'm able to deduce issues in them before I even lay them out.

This Summer was like a new level of shitty scripts being offered to me. Something tells me the popularity of superhero movies has made people want to be writers, so suddenly anyone with a laptop thinks they're Alan Moore/Brian Michael Bendis/etc. But it's not that easy. I've been drawing my entire life, and it took me 23 years of practice and drawing every day before someone was willing to pay me. Quality isn't born overnight.

Now here are some tips I have to make the best scripts possible and to keep you from falling into the realm of typist.

1) Know your story. No, seriously. Know it. Let's say you write your magnum opus as a 5-page pitch to send to Image. Even if only 5 pages are written, do you know how it will end? Do you know what characters will show up along the way? Is the entire arc even outlined out? Flying by the seat of your pants is the worst way to tackle a story because it's so easy to have it derailed. Plus, knowing how the ending goes gives you a goal to reach.