PDA

View Full Version : my inks over FINCH and MaskedRamen

Rob Norton
02-09-2015, 08:24 PM
practicing inking...

first up, over David Finch. im no pro inker, I have no illusions. but I am always trying to get better. gave this a real shot. mostly happy with it but I still obviously have to work on my line control. also its crazy how when I look at the actual art, I looks okay, but when I see the posted scan here, all I can see is all these errors just jumping out at me. so weird.

http://fc03.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2015/040/3/1/inks_over_finch_by_robnor-d8hdpvt.jpg

and then, here are partial inks over fellow DW artist MaskedRamen, from his Xmen pages we all did as a group project. never got to finish these, but they were super fun.

http://fc02.deviantart.net/fs71/i/2015/040/a/d/inks_over_another_artist____by_robnor-d8hdqc6.jpg

VANDAL
02-10-2015, 01:37 PM
There are lots of haphazard lines here. I will say this though, you get the faces right and when you are inking faces roughly the size of a dime that is a good skill to have right. My suggestion to you is this, if you spend as much time on the rest of everything as you did on the face of the girl in that Finch piece, you will start to see some dramatic improvement in your work. Yes, they are very different types of lines but the hardest thing about being an inker is to show the same devotion to EVERYTHING, even the boring stuff. You can mask inking mistakes by spending more time on the important elements but the very few working inkers these days spend the same time and devotion to the ENTIRE page.

reyesart
02-10-2015, 04:21 PM
Inking needs to add weight, depth, textures and clarity. Keep in mind the light sources where light is less your lines should be thicker and thinner or even broken where the light hits. Inking is also finishing (rough drawing). Keep inking the more you do the better you'll get and keep having fun doing it.

Rob Norton
02-13-2015, 04:13 PM