PDA

View Full Version : Using Microns To Ink Professionally?

NatMatt
02-05-2015, 04:24 PM
As someone who's trying to make a living in the comic industry as an artist, I've found it difficult (and expensive) to ink with a brush or pen and ink. I've never been comfortable using a brush or a nib to ink with so instead I've recently decided to switch to Microns to ink my work. I love the conveniences that come with using Microns, such as not having to refill the inks and having control over the lines. But despite this, it kind of feels like I'm "cheating" or that it's unprofessional to use Microns instead of a brush. Do you think using Microns is unprofessional?

Alex Sollazzo
02-05-2015, 04:33 PM
Who cares what tool you use, ink by smearing paint with your fingers if the results are still good.

Morganza
02-05-2015, 04:44 PM
It's the results that matter, not the tools. Art Adams uses pens to ink and his work speaks for itself, use whatever you feel comfortable with and master it.

Bishop
02-05-2015, 04:54 PM
Ethan VanSciver uses Rapidograph's. No one cares as long as it looks good.

Emmis
02-05-2015, 05:05 PM
I love what Klaus Jansen wrote in his book on inking, where he basically says there are benefits and downsides to everything you can use to ink, but to try and compare which is better is a waste of time.

I rarely use them, just cause for whatever reason they never last very long for me. I must be too heavy handed or rough on them

Rob Norton
02-05-2015, 07:03 PM
everyone has said all that needs to be said.

ive seen art inked with sharpie markers that did what the artist wanted.

so use whatever gets you the results you want.

ultimately I think brush work with nibs give the best overall results and options..but the cant do Everything. and they are really hard to learn how to use. so I have a large selection of Pitt and microns.

don't get hung up on what "pros" use. just listen to when they talk about quality tools and how/why they work.

rob

L Jamal