PDA

View Full Version : Question on specs for lettering

DJ Keawekane
12-09-2014, 04:56 AM
My letterer is asking me what is the final size for the comic pages we are going to use and whether to go RGB or CMYK.

I have no idea what they are. I'm an artist by trade that is throwing his hat into the writers chair and now I'm coming up on questions we just never come across.

My plan is to have the issue submitted to Image and if they reject us keep moving on down the chain.

I've checked Images submission guidelines, they have nothing of that sort. But I know a lot of people who lurk here have done work for them.

Could you help me out with this? Preferably without making me feel like an ass thank you very much.

DaveyDouble
12-09-2014, 05:18 AM
RGB is Red/Green/Blue. It's the colour profile for video (anything using a screen or light).
CMYK is Cyan/Magenta/Yellow/Key (Black) and is the colour profile used for printing (anything using ink or pigment).

This is a whole big nasty can of worms mate. You'll create the artwork using digital means, and these will only really, truly, actually work in RGB, but if you're going to print it, it needs to be converted to CMYK.

Don't ask me how it's done professionally. I hate physical media.

Printers like Ka-Blam request RGB files, whereas LithoNinja says CMY is preferred.
Fuck paper, man. Go all digital, all the time.

Scribbly
12-09-2014, 07:42 AM
My letterer is asking me what is the final size for the comic pages we are going to use and whether to go RGB or CMYK.

I have no idea what they are. I'm an artist by trade that is throwing his hat into the writers chair and now I'm coming up on questions we just never come across.

My plan is to have the issue submitted to Image and if they reject us keep moving on down the chain.

I've checked Images submission guidelines, they have nothing of that sort. But I know a lot of people who lurk here have done work for them.