PDA

View Full Version : Looking for inking critique

Redking84
09-05-2014, 02:49 PM
I'd like to know what separates a decent inker from a great one.To that end I have attached samples of some of my inks.

http://fc00.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2014/248/6/3/inksondavidyardin_spencils_by_wielder-d7y1c98.jpg

here is a link to the original but the artist David Yardin requested his work be linked and not reposted.

http://www.deviantart.com/art/Hi-Res-Pencils-for-inkers-Injustice-17-page-7-376358309

I drew this one

http://th03.deviantart.net/fs70/PRE/i/2014/247/7/c/wedding_pencils_by_wielder-d7xx4yy.jpg

http://th01.deviantart.net/fs70/PRE/i/2014/247/5/9/wedding_inks_2_by_wielder-d7xx5a4.jpg

johnjohn
09-06-2014, 11:11 AM
I'm still learning myself, so this is coming from a rookie as well but the first things I noticed are a couple of things that were pointed out to me to work on which are:

1) Vary the thickness of your lines more.

In the last panel of the first page (for example) the entire background is done in the same line thickness. That tends to flatten out the image. Think of inking like doing a negative space drawing, where you create the image by using lines of various thickness to highlight the image instead of drawing the actual image.
Here's a better definition with some instruction : http://www.artinstructionblog.com/an-introduction-to-negative-drawing-with-mike-sibley

2) Practice your lines so they're clean.
Quite a few of the lines have a wobble to them which breaks up the flow of the image.

3) Use ink applied with a brush or quill and not markers.
Markers can leave light and dark spots which will also contribute to wavy looking lines.
Brush or quill will be up to you, some people will swear brush only and others will swear that it's both. Get both and practice with them.

Practice 'drawing' and 'throwing' the line.