PDA

View Full Version : lettering with ipad?

dead_cowboy
08-22-2013, 03:35 PM
Greetings,
I've been doing my lettering for many years using an ancient copy of Adobe Illustrator on my desktop PC. I've recently thought about getting an iPad so that I can stop and work whenever I have a few minutes (cramped schedule and all that). I know Illustrator isn't available for iPad, but is there an equivalent vector program anyone knows of that can import and export *.AI files without any trouble? I'd be using a mouse-and-keyboard setup for this.

Or, alternately is there another tablet that would work better? Sorry if this sounds a bit newbish, but I'm completely new to tablets. Any help is appreciated.

JimCampbell
08-22-2013, 03:43 PM
I really, really don't think a tablet is suitable for this kind of work. There's certainly nothing that would give you the pro-grade control over typography, colour profiles and trapping. If your intent would be to keep this stuff in an AI compatible file format to bring the files back onto your desktop, I think you'd spend longer doing clean-up of the files on your desktop than just doing the work there in the first place.

I use a laptop hooked up to an external monitor with a wireless k/b and mouse, so when I want to work on the move, I just unhook the laptop and take it with me.

Cheers

Jim

dead_cowboy
08-22-2013, 03:58 PM
I have considered just springing for another laptop, but my copy of AI is several generations old and would likely have compatibility issues. That means I'd have to spring for another copy and so on. It would be significantly more expensive overall. But, thanks for the reply. That's certainly a viable alternative.

Bishop
08-22-2013, 04:58 PM
Even the Adobe apps on the ipad won't open .ai files. However, the Adobe app "Adobe Ideas" will produce files that can be opened in Illustrator.

Sounds like you need one of these:
http://reviews.cnet.com/tablets/wacom-cintiq-companion-hybrid/4505-3126_7-35826676.html