PDA

View Full Version : How do you feel about posting scripts?

scrappy
07-07-2013, 11:00 AM
I know this forum isn't typically for stuff like this, but I wanted to get people's opinions on this subject. I'm fairly new to writing comics and obviously I want all the feedback I can get (both on my script format and the story itself). But I feel like posting a raw script is throwing the idea out there for people to adopt for themselves and use any way they want. I know its part of the deal, but I'm kind of torn between wanting feedback and exposing my ideas.

I'm probably going to post it at some point because I know it'll probably never be a problem. It's just my overly cautious imagination. But I just wanted to hear what people had to say on the matter first.

Lovecraft13
07-07-2013, 02:43 PM
Posting online will get you a thousand ambiguous or generic responses from a variety of people who don't have your best interests in mind. And while you might approach message boards for positive feedback, you'll either sour on the negative responses or become discouraged by the lack of any responses.

Approach the smartest person you know, and ask him or her for help.

If you're looking for something more specific, like script format, then message boards would be ideal. While many formats vary, you'll get informed responses and links to online sources.

Don't worry about protecting your ideas. Whatever they are, someone already beat you to the punch. The only difference is they probably never finished the project. Be the person who does.

Still. If you're still worried about stolen ideas, don't post your work online.

Steven Forbes
07-07-2013, 06:13 PM
There are a few ways to approach this, and I'm going to go over them from least expensive to most expensive.

The first way is to do nothing. Just keep your ideas to yourself and develop them the best way you know how. I don't recommend this option.