PDA

View Full Version : [Parody] Pay the Writer

paul brian deberry
04-18-2013, 11:29 AM
[I have no cool image because I'm a writer.]

The message is pretty clear. Writers are not made out of money. We work 50 jobs just to support our foolish dream of one day being the next Stan Lee, [your favorite writer here] etc., etc., We are not all basement trolls, that live off their mothers or fathers social secruity. We have wives, sons, daughters, pet gold fish that all need to eat. We have to pay rent or a mortgages. Our cars need gas to get us to work so we can feed our families.

We are writers and we want to be paid TOO - damn it!

:fart:

ColbyAddison
04-18-2013, 07:47 PM
Yep. I can understand how an artist would want to be paid for their work, they should be paid. Though Ive always thought it was a bit hypocritical for an artist to go on these diatribes about how they deserve to be paid, yet they have no issue with the writer not being paid. In many cases, the writer actually loses money when all the expenses are calculated. For amateur comic creators, I see nothing wrong with both parties working for free, a true collaboration on a project they both feel passionate about. Share the burden. Why should the writer always be the one that has to risk going in debt to pursue their dream? Good writers are just as valuable as good artists.

I really do think a factor in this is that it's not as easy to tell if your writing sucks. I can't draw, I know this. I look at my drawing and I know it sucks. But many people who write, just aren't capable of noticing how bad it is. It's as if everyone thinks they can write a well told story. NOT the case.

Pay the artist what you can, pay the writer what you can. If you love the project and want to build up your portfolio, don't be ashamed to collaborate together for nothing but hopes and dreams. Just make sure that you aren't being taken advantage of for free. Now that's a different story.

neuralclone
04-18-2013, 08:44 PM