PDA

View Full Version : which con is the best to contact editors?

lobocomics
02-06-2013, 09:14 AM
OK.. since I am trying to get more serious about working as an inker, I think I have to make contact with the editors.. so the next step is going to a convention and show my work... now... I live in Mexico, and cons here are more about bringing the artists than the editors... so I want to go to a con in the US... the question is... which con is the best to get in touch with editors?

JuanAlbarran
02-06-2013, 09:38 AM
I have no experience in showing my work on cons, I got my gigs following a different route, but I went to Dragon Con in Atlanta 3 years ago and it looked to me like an ideal place to show a portafolio. That con is not as packed and SDCC or NYCC (I attended NYCC two years ago and it was really really crazy) and there weren't a whole lot of artists waiting on the editors area. I would assume that editors had more time to review portafolios and spend time with all artists.

Maybe I'm wrong but I think that smaller cons would work best for this type of thing.

Juan

lobocomics
02-06-2013, 12:18 PM
Exactly.. I went to comicon.. and it was insane... and I found out that at smaller conventions, you have more time and artists and editors are more relaxed, and can look at your work, and even socialize a little...how did you get your gigs by the way?

JuanAlbarran
02-06-2013, 05:48 PM
I am currently inking for one of the big two but I'm not allowed to say anything yet... hopefully next month they'll let me. For me it was a combination of pure luck, being nice and professional and being ready when the opportunity came knocking. Oh, and being able to survive sleeping about 4 hours a day or even less is useful too :blink: