PDA

View Full Version : File output resource

adamw
12-09-2012, 01:20 PM
Hi everyone!

As a completely self taught letterer, I'm always worried that I'm not doing some small thing correctly that will have a big impact on the appearance of my work.

I've recently read a bunch of great posts scattered throughout this board with tips for outputting files for various purposes and I was wondering if there is a good single resource (book, website, etc) that explains all the nuances of outputting files in a step-by-step manner?

Most of the lettering I've done has been for my own projects or other indie creators (no big publisher work...yet), so the production work often falls to me and I want to make sure I'm doing things correctly and outputting the most professional quality work I can.

A little background:
- I always work from Tiff files, usually the final colored hi res art (occasionally I've lettered the bw pages to get ahead and then transferred the lettering to colored pages as they were completed).
- After creating outlines and overprinting the blacks, I export my files directly from illustrator as CMYK TIFF files.
- I also export RGB jpgs so I (or the client) has samples for posting to the web.

A few things I'm interesting in checking on are:
1. What are acceptable file sizes for output files?
2. Should I be creating PDF's instead of TIFFs for my print ready files?
3. Should I be using indesign? I personally have not had the opportunity to work directly with a printer yet, so I'm worried there are some elements of this process that I might not be aware of.
4. Sometimes I'm sent tiff files that are in RGB mode other times they are in CMYK. When I letter (always in K100), and then export as CMYK Tiff files, am I messing something up?

I have Illustrator, Photoshop and Indesign (but I have no idea how to use Indesign yet).