PDA

View Full Version : How do you like to be paid?

galmando
02-07-2010, 04:41 PM
in light of recent discussions i thought i'd put a query out there

and before i start i dont want anyone naming any names, y'all know which recent events i'm talking about.

as an artist, i personally would never ask or expect to have payment up fron, it never crosses my mind.

as with the current project i'm doing for JD Lombardi, i do the pages that he asks and then he pays me, heck, he may not pay me straight away, but he stills does.

to be fair i dont always produce pages straight away, so i dont have any beef at all with our situation.

i have paypal set up and he simply pays me. i dont see why anyone would ask to be paid up front. thats really what my query is.

is there anyone on DW who would object to not receiving advanced payment and for what reason?

i've heard a lot of comparisons to artists being manufactors, which is quite accurate, and as with anything manufactured, i expect to pay for it when its complete.

i didnt lay donw 8,000 cash for my VW Fox before it was even built! so maybe thats where i get my values from, maybe not.

i wouldnt expect anyone to pay me in advance because in the back of my mind i'm also thinking 'what if i cant do the work?', sure i gotta pay the money back, but thats just hastle not needed when i can be paid as ad when i produce the work.

even if somebody offered i'd say no. perhaps i'm strange, i've no idea, but all this commotion has gotten me confused with hpw people work in this industry

Justice41
02-07-2010, 04:48 PM
As long as the steps taken by the artist shows you as the writer what you will be getting, then after the prelims or pencil stage(if the artist is doing the pencils and inks) no prob in paying some money, as work has been done. It encourages the artist as well but full payment may send the slacker in them into meltdown. :laugh:

galmando
02-07-2010, 05:00 PM
i would regard myself unfortunately as a slacker, being honest.