PDA

View Full Version : Inking supplies

rml8607
01-05-2008, 03:30 PM
Ive heard a lot of people using different tools, but I want to know what is the best. There are so many brushes, pens, quills, and ink out there and i was wondering if anyone had opinions on what produces the best product. Also, what kind of paper is best?

Archermonkey
01-14-2008, 06:33 AM
I'm no expert, but following suit with what I've heard about a lot of professionals, I've taken to using Crow quills - though I wasn't able to find them here in Australia they were pretty cheap to order from England. Only a few dollars, and it took about a week for them to arrive. It takes a little bit of practice to get used to, but I've been satisfied with the results myself. For anything that should look organic (flesh, hair, fabric, etc) I use a brush. Not having the money to buy too much for inking (pencilling being my main focus) I've just taken to using the size 1 brush that I bought at a hobby store for miniature painting.

As for paper, you're going to want to use Bristol board.

jeffo46
01-14-2008, 07:48 AM
I get all of my inking supplies from Bill Cole,who is located in Massachusetts.He has been in the business a long time,first as a supplier of comic bags,and now,he has his own line of artists acessories such as pencils,inking supplies,etc.Plus he has the best bristol board available,which I think is a lot better than the Blue Line product.Check him out,you won't be dissapointed.

UniverseX259
01-14-2008, 12:11 PM
There's a ton of stuff you can get, but there are some more popular, or more commonly used products:

- Hunt 102 crowquill
- Windsor & Newton or Raphael #3 or #4 brush
- Higgins Black Magic ink
- Bristol board (Smooth or rough, depending on preference - Strathmore is good, and I've heard good things about Utrecht)
- Some form of white correction substance (I used this stuff called Pro-White, but there's probably other stuff to use)