PDA

View Full Version : Penciling in shadows

secret-identity
06-07-2007, 02:08 PM
I'm a penciler. I've been drawing for over 10-11 years and when I draw I don't draw/shade in shadows on my living figures. Some contrast, but not complete darks because when I look at people, most of the time there is no black dark shadow spots; just different tones of color. So I figure, I leave it up to the colorists to put the lights and darks in.
Is this a mistake? My close friend tells me I should draw in shadows but I dont think it's necessary for a penciler to take it upon himself if a colorist can take care of that. There's no problem with doing it, but I want to know - is it something standard in the comic world? please send me in the right direction, or suggested direction.
Thoughts or comments

xombey
06-07-2007, 06:24 PM
that's one approach and it's a logical one. but do you never draw art meant to be seen in b/w?

Biofungus
06-07-2007, 07:15 PM
it's a logical approach, as Xombey stated, but impractical for comics. You have to spot blacks (well, either you or the inker, but if you're making the inker do it, he/she'd damnwell be getting paid as much as you are, because they're doing at least the same amount of work).

hannu
06-07-2007, 07:20 PM
You should occasionally spot blacks/use heavy shadows, because it can create a very dramatic effect. Learn to do it, donīt leave it entirely to the colorist. I find it pencillers job to define light sources and such, but thatīs just me.

dano
06-07-2007, 09:01 PM
It completely depends on the type of book you're doing and who's on your team. If you have a very painterly colorist you can draw it like a coloring book and let them go nuts.

However,
Don't find yourself in a position where you choose not to shadow because it's difficult and you don't want to bother learning it.
The greatest disservice you can do to yourself is to take short cuts to cover a deficiency.

secret-identity
06-08-2007, 12:01 AM